Breaking News: Rochas Okorocha Makes Another History In Imo

Spread the love

Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha, yesterday, shook up his entire cabinet. The governor who has been making the headlines lately swore-in 28 new commissioners and 27 Transition Committee Chairmen for the 27 local government councils in the state.

While swearing in the new commissioners and Transition Committee Chairmen he charged them to make their mark in service to Imo people.

The highlight of the occasion was the swearing in of Mrs. Ogechi Ololo, a biological sister of Rochas Okorocha as the commissioner for Happiness and Couples’ Fulfillment.

READ ALSO: NPower List 2017 – Check NPower Successful List 2017 Here | NPower Portal

Mrs. Ogechi Ololo (nee Okorocha) was the All Progressives Congress, APC’s candidate into the House of Representatives for the Owerri Federal Constituency. She has served in different capacities since his brother came into power.

Before her appointment as the commissioner for Happiness and Couples’ Fulfillment, she was the Governor’s Deputy Chief of Staff and Special Adviser on Domestic Matters.

In his swearing in speech, Gov. Rochas Okorocha said,

“You are the privileged group that has the opportunity to make names for yourselves. I want to remind all of you that this appointment is not business as usual.

“We shall not tolerate any sharp practice or corruption of any type. Neither shall we accept indolence or laziness. You have been called to duty to help us to achieve our vision in the Rescue Mission Project.

“At this moment, I charge you all to be good ambassadors of the Rescue Mission wherever you find yourselves.

“To the Transition Committee Chairmen, you must ensure that ongoing projects must be completed especially the schools, chapels etc.”

Full List of The New Commissioners in Imo State and their portfolios

The new commisioners swon-in by Gov Rochas Okorocha are:

Prof. Nnamdi Obiaraeri (Information); Lady Ugochi Nnana – Okoro (Agric and Food Security); Gertrude Oduka (Primary and Secondary Education); Dr. Jones Uzoka (Niger Delta Affairs); Uchendu Mark (Public Utilities ); and Gerald Okolie (Rural Development).

Others are Dr. Cyril Okafor (Tourism ); Emmanuel Ojinere (Trade and Investment); Chief Lasbery Anyanwu (Transport); Onwueyiagwu Valentine (Youth Development); Mrs. Ngozi Njoku (Gender and Social Development); Chief Josephine Udoji (Works); Achilike Nwawuike (Internal Resources and Pension Matters ); Prof. Emenalo Chizoba (Tertiary Education); Nwamerenini Chukwuka (Labour); and Dr. Iyke Njoku (Planning, Budget and Statistics).

List of New Imo Transition Committee Chairmen

The Transition Committee Chairmen sworn in are: Okechukwu Onyechere (Ideato South); Sir Anyehe Okeneme (Ikeduru ); Julius Onyeneho (Isiala Mbano); Akas Paschal, (Isu ); Steve Odoemena (Mbaitoli); Eke Chidi (Ngor Okpala); Aloysius Onwuegbuchulam (Njaba ); and Paschal Onwukaike (Nkwerre}‎.

This new portfolio of commissioner for happiness and couples fulfillment created by Rochas Okorocha is rather an unconventional one just as the appointment of his sister to head it. He is the first Nigerian governor to create such a post.

Let us hope this will not bring similar condemnations as his recent molding of statues with the Imo state tax payers money.

How would you rate Rochas Okorocha so far?